Resolutions

The Committee received one resolution for consideration at the 168th Council of the Episcopal Diocese of Texas:

Authorization for an Assistant Bishop

WHEREAS, in the opinion of the Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Texas, the Diocese requires additional episcopal services; and

WHEREAS, the Executive Board and the Standing Committee of the Episcopal Diocese of Texas have approved the hiring of an Assistant Bishop for the Diocese; and

WHEREAS, the Standing Committee has consented to the submission of this resolution to the 168th Council of the Episcopal Diocese of Texas; therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the 168TH Council of the Episcopal Diocese of Texas, assembled in Galveston, Texas, hereby approves the creation of the position of Assistant Bishop for the Diocese and authorizes the Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Texas to appoint a Bishop for this position, with the consent of the Standing Committee of the Diocese, under such terms and conditions as the Bishop may determine.

Proposed by: The Rt. Rev. C. Andrew Doyle, The Rt. Rev. Dena A. Harrison, and The Rt. Rev. Jeff W. Fisher, Members of the Standing Committee, Members of the Executive Board.

The Resolutions Committee recommends adoption.

Courtesy Resolutions

Greetings to the Episcopal Diocese of West Texas
Greetings to the Episcopal Diocese of Arkansas
Greetings to the Episcopal Diocese of Dallas
Greetings to the Episcopal Diocese of Fort Worth
Greetings to the Episcopal Diocese of Kansas
Greetings to the Episcopal Diocese of Northwest Texas
Greetings to the Episcopal Diocese of Oklahoma
Greetings to the Episcopal Diocese of the Rio Grande
Greetings to the Episcopal Diocese of West Missouri
Greetings to the Episcopal Diocese of West Texas
Greetings to the Episcopal Diocese of Western Kansas
Greetings to the Episcopal Diocese of Western Louisiana
Greetings to Seminarians and Iona Students

Resolutions, continued

On the Retirement of Clergy

WHEREAS, the Reverends Alejandro S. Montes, Dr. Thomas L. Day, Dr. Kathleen S. Russell, Nancy P. DeForest, J. Parker Jameson, Nick D. Novak, Michael B. Russell, Michael G. Wallens, Bowman Townsend, Leonard "Link" E. Hullar, and Robert "Bob" Merrill have faithfully served the Church and this diocese through their ministries in parishes, institutions, and boards; and

WHEREAS, these clergy retired from the active ministry during 2016; and

WHEREAS, the Episcopal Diocese of Texas has been richly blessed by their gifts in the service of our Lord; therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the 168th Council of the Episcopal Diocese of Texas gives glory to God for their faithful witness and wishes them well in this new stage of life in Christ.

On the Retirement of Diocesan Staff

WHEREAS, Rochelle Childers, Martha Harvey and Bob Biehl have faithfully served the Episcopal Diocese of Texas through their ministries; and

WHEREAS, as members of the Diocesan Staff they retired during the year 2016; and

WHEREAS, the Episcopal Diocese of Texas has been richly blessed by their gifts in the service of our Lord; therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the 168th Council of the Episcopal Diocese of Texas gives glory to God for their faithful witness and wishes them well in this new stage of life in Christ.

In Honor of Council Management Committee

WHEREAS, the people of the Episcopal Diocese of Texas saw fit to gather in Galveston, Texas, home to many vibrant and thriving ministries of our Diocese; and

WHEREAS, the Diocese is thankful for the outstanding service of the Council Management Committee under the coordination of Mary Cloud, as well as for the fine work of the Diocesan staff, clergy and laity, including countless volunteers from across the Diocese of Texas; therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the 168th Annual Council of the Episcopal Diocese of Texas gives praise to God for the dedicated ministry of the Council Management Committee members, including the Rev. Canon Kathryn M. Ryan, Chair; Mary Cloud, Diocesan Council Coordinator; David Harvin, Chancellor ex officio; the Rev. William Fowler, Chair for the Dispatch of Business; Susan Duif, Carol Barnwell, Alice Kerr, Sara Myers, Tammy Tiner, John Flanagan, the Rev. Dean Lawrence, Seth Hinkley, the Rev. Kenneth L. Fields, Rob Montgomery, Joanne Starbuck, and Nick Johnson.

The Rev. Susan Kennard, chair