December 1, 2011

Dear Friends across the Episcopal Church,

The Rt. Rev. C. Andrew Doyle has announced his intention to ask the 163rd Council of the Diocese of Texas to call for the election of a Bishop Suffragan. To that end, he has appointed Mrs. Pamela Nolting to be the Chair of a Task Force for the Election of a Bishop Suffragan and has charged that Task Force with defining the process by which the election would be held.

We welcome you to the portion of the diocesan website dedicated to the election process. Here you will find information about the election process and the events leading up to it. Once nominations open, anticipated to be on February 13, 2012, this site will have the nomination forms in English and in Spanish.

In order to elect the best possible person to be our new suffragan, we invite you to participate in the process by prayerfully identifying potential nominees from all across the Episcopal Church and making them known to those who may nominate. Because our diocesan canons allow only delegates to the 163rd Council to place names in nomination for bishop in this election, you will find clergy contact information in the <u>162nd Annual</u> <u>Council Journal</u>, <u>Volume II</u>. Information on lay delegates may be obtained from the individual congregations which are also listed in the <u>162nd Annual Council Journal</u>, <u>Volume II</u>.

At the close of nominations, expected to be in mid-to-late March, the information about nominees will be posted here and will be published in *The Diolog*. After the election, there will be an extensive profile of the bishop-elect.

Please look further on this site for the answers to Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ's) and for the results of our recent survey. Also posted here is a brief overview of the anticipated duties and responsibilities of the new bishop.

We welcome your questions and comments. The names of the members of the Task Force are listed at the bottom of this letter but all questions and comments may be emailed to <u>akerr@epicenter.org</u>.

Finally, but most importantly, please join with us in praying daily for God's guidance as we move toward the election and subsequent consecration of our new bishop suffragan.

In His service,

The Task Force for the Election of a Bishop Suffragan

Pamela S. Nolting, Chair The Rev. Arthur Callaham The Rev. Sean Cox Kerry Hancock Peyton Luckett Elam Swann Shelly Vitanza The Rev. Francene Young